Band Boosters

The Shawnee Mission East High School Band Boosters is a not-for-profit group that strives to assist the band program. The SME Band Boosters organization is made up of parents whose children are enrolled in any band at Shawnee Mission East.

The Band Boosters meet on the first Wednesday of each month. Usually from 7 to 8:30 pm in the band room. These meetings are an invaluable source of information about course requirements, uniforms, concert dates, trips, etc.

The Band Boosters provide financial, physical, and moral support for the band program on a year-round basis. Various fundraisers have provided equipment, software, camp fees, awards, scholarships, uniforms, instruments, guest clinicians, and receptions, just to name a few.

As you may guess, there is a lot of work involved in the band program by students, teachers, and parents. But, the rewards are immeasurable! We look forward to a great school year. Won’t you join us in making the music programs at SME the best in the state?

HOW CAN I HELP?

The only requirement for being in the Band Boosters organization is to have a student in one of the many performing ensembles at SME. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved, if you want to know how, contact our Band Booster President Jake Hood at jakew.hood1982@gmail.com


Executive Board Members

Position Name/Yr of Student Contact (via Email)
President Jake Hood — Junior jakew.hood1982@gmail.com
Vice President Gwen Wurst — Junior gewurstt@gmail.com
Treasurer Shelly Hood — Junior shelly_hood@kc.rr.com
Co-Treasurer Kelly Chamberlain — Sophomore kellyjean2001@hotmail.com
Secretary Helen Chamberlain — Senior & Sophomore carlhelen3@aol.com
At-Large #1 Leslie White — Junior teainthesahara2@gmail.com
At- Large #2 Susan Nitsch — Senior snitsch@kc.rr.com
At- Large #3 Rusty Debey — Sophomore russelldebey@smsd.org
At-Large #4    

Committee Members

Committe Name Contact
Band Banquet Heather Rubesch — Sophomore kcmomof2@gmail.com
Band Camp Social Event Melissa Dailey — Senior mdxdailey@gmail.com
Band Trophy Case Heather Rubesch — Sophomore kcmomof2@gmail.com
Bus Coordinator (Football) Emily Babcock emilybabcock@smsd.org
Camp, Festival, Travel Food & Beverages Rachel Gast — Sophomore regast@hotmail.com
Car Wash Michelle Bunte — Sophomore mbunte@sorinc.com
Communications Harlan Brooks — Sophomore h.brooks@ave-j.com
Concert Programs 1. Trudy Williams — Sophomore 2. Aiken Coinrad — Freshman 1. trudyart@gmail.com 2. kissesac59@gmail.com
Concession Stand (Basketball Season) 1. Rusty Debey — Sophomore 2. Lisa Debey — Sophomore 1. russelldebey@smsd.org 2. lisadebey@gmail.com
Corporate/Village Shops Fundraising 1. Jeff Faulk 2. Christy Rogers 1. jettray70@yahoo.com 2. christyrogers@gmail.com
Jazz Night Melissa & Joe Athon — Freshman maathon@gmail.com
Little Lancer Band John Kashka — Band Parent Alumnus jkkashka@everestkc.net
Merchandise Fundraising Rachel Gast — Sophomore regast@hotmail.com
Props/Marching Show Leslie White — Junior teainthesahara2@gmail.com
Senior Recognition Events Lauren Conderman lauren@bigcatdesign.com
Student Representative Natalie Nitsch — Senior  
T-Shirt Coordinator Gwen Wurst — Junior gewurstt@gmail.com
Truck Driver/Loading Coordinator (Primary and Alternate) [for transportation of band equipment] Primary: David Hassett Alternate: Mason Goodmon 1. dhassett1@gmail.com 2. mgoodmon@gmail.com
Truck Loading Assistant Coordinator [for transportation of band equipment] Chris & Tom Clevenger — Sophomore ccjayhawk@yahoo.com
Uniforms 1. Kimberly Justice — Junior 2. Tracy Haynes — Freshman 3. Mary Krohn — Sophomore 1. justicevo@aol.com 2. tracy.haynes75@gmail.com 3. bobk6058@sbcglobal.net
Year End Video Tiffany & Wesley Truster — Junior & Senior tifftrust@gmail.com

Additional Information

  • Booster Committees
  • Booster Documents & Forms
  • Supporting the Band
    • Sponsors
    • How to become a Sponsor